Kane leading charge for Golden Shoe can you name past winners

Sponsored Links

Kane leading charge for Golden Shoe can you name past winners

It may still be early in the season but Harry Kane's record-breaking beginning at Bayern Munich gives him a great start to become only England's second European Golden Shoe winner.

The goals are weighted, so players in the top five European leagues see their goals count double, the leagues ranked sixth to 22nd are at 1.5 times and the lower ranked divisions' players' goals count just once.

The only English player to win it before was Sunderland's Kevin Phillips in 1999-2000. At the bottom of this piece there is a quiz to see if you can name the other winners since.

Kane is the top scorer in Europe's top five leagues this season but he is not actually top of the European Golden Shoe race yet (more on that in a minute).

Remarkably he would already have won last season's Bundesliga Golden Boot with that total. Niclas Fullkrug and Christopher Nkunku shared the 2022-23 top scorer trophy with 16 goals each.

With goals in that league multiplied by 1.5, he has 34.5 points - 0.5 above Kane. But Pellegrino's team only have five games left this season - so Kane (or someone else) will overtake him soon enough.


Read full article here

Posted By:

Date Posted: Fri, 24 Nov 2023, 07:57 pm

Tags: Harry Kane

Sponsored Links